Turkey

The obligatory post-Thanksgiving post. Wednesday I spent the night at my friends Heidi’s and Daniel’s house. We brined the turkey, hung out, ate waffles in the morning, and got ready for a group of 16 to arrive around 2. I got hungry about 12:30, so we set out on a quest for a burrito–carne asada, guacamole, beans, rice, all the good stuff. Once everyone arrived, we had a huge, huge buffet-style dinner. The dishes (I may have forgotten some): turkey and gravy, ham, mashed potatoes, stuffing, sweet potato souffle, two cranberries, green been casserole, spinach casserole, artichoke dip and sourdough bread, salad, deviled eggs, caramelized baked apple goodness… I think that’s most of it. Dinner was followed by coffee, a turkey pinata, then dessert… pumpkin, key lime, and derby pies. Oh, and the candy from the pinata. Several rounds of mafia, dutch blitz, balderdash, and some food coma rest finished off the night.

See Heidi’s photos here.

The rest of my weekend consisted of a left-over ham sandwich dinner downtown Friday, a game of Ticket To Ride Europe edition, walking Temple Square to see the Christmas lights.  Shooting portraits of a friend’s friend (see Shutterfly), playing worship Sunday morning (totally stripped–1 acoustic, 1 djembe, two voices), making gumbo for friends Sunday evening, bread pudding and watching Charlie Brown Christmas.

I might have already put on my 10 holiday pounds…

~ by grant on December 1, 2008.

5 Responses to “Turkey”

  1. I knew that was your plate even before I saw the photo of you holding it!!!

  2. sounds like a wonderful holiday.

  3. like it’s surprising you’d want a burrito before thanksgiving dinner.

  4. That party looks like a lot of fun! I love the games: pinata, cards. I wish we would have played, too, but by the time dinner was over, I was “through with,” as Eric would say.
    I’m looking forward to seeing you after Christmas, Grant.

    Love,
    J

  5. I wasn’t surprised… But not at all satisfied after eating it since it was COLD.

    but the day was much fun. looking forward to seeing the Bay Area clan!

Leave a comment